Dartford v Wrexham – rescheduled to Sat 09/03/13 – 1pm


Dartford were prevented from playing in front of the cameras on Friday night against table toppers and F.A Trophy finalists Wrexham.

A waterlogged Princes Park pitch has led to the rescheduling of the Conference Premier fixture. Called off after an inspection, officials and the authorities have agreed to try again on Saturday at 1pm.

Back in September Dartford achieved one of their results of the season in Wales when the left it late to bring home a point. A trip to the Racecourse Ground five and half months ago ended in a well earned 2-2 draw.

Winger Danny Harris gave the Darts a shock lead inside the first five minutes when he slotted past goalkeeper Joslain Mayebi. Wrexham took control and by the break turned the match around. First, top scorer Danny Wright levelled following up from a blocked effort. Just before the interval on loan Bury striker Andy Bishop dinked a chip over the on rushing Marcus Bettinelli. In the second half committed Dartford players dug in and were rewarded in style. Lee Noble struck home a delightful 25 yard free kick in the final minute to grab a deserved point.

The Darts have fond memories of their last showing on the box beating Mansfield Town 2-0. This time they build up to Friday’s fixture on the back of a draw against Stockport County. A low turn out witnessed the visitors take the lead against the run of play when a dipping shot was parried into the path of Mark Cullen for the on loan striker to score with eleven minutes played. The Hatters settled into the match and went into the dressing room at half time a goal to the good.

After an hour Tony Burman changed to a more attacking formation throwing on Jacob Erskine and Jack Evans. The game came to life and Princes Park had something to cheer with twenty minutes remaining thanks to Danny Harris bundling the ball over the line for the equaliser. The result means Dartford are now five league games unbeaten at home.

Wrexham spent Tuesday night ten miles from Princes Park when they visited our local rivals Ebbsfleet United. Manager Andy Morrell had captured the loan signing of Dele Adebola from Rochdale signalling his intent to clinch promotion. On Tuesday night the former established Championship striker scored three minutes into his second Wrexham appearance. A second goal by former Premier League striker Brett Ormerod arrived just eight minutes later doubling the advantage for the visitors.

Morrell’s men were three up just before the half hour mark when Kevin Thornton scored his third league goal for the club. On the stroke of half time Robert Ogleby scored a fourth in an excellent first half for Wrexham. Nathan Elder grabbed a consolation late in the second half but the Red Devils stretched their lead at the top to three.

The Reds are on a thirteen match unbeaten run in which time they have only scored more than two in a match on three occasions. The ability to grind out results prior Tuesday’s mauling of Fleet has left the Welsh club with the chance to push for the non league double, winning the league and F.A Trophy which was last achieved in 1993 by Martin O’Neill’s Wycombe Wanderers.

Team News

Lee Noble serves his final game suspension following his second red card of the season almost three weeks ago. Mark Arber returned to the bench on Tuesday as an unused substitute after recovering from a virus. Tom Champion is one caution away from a suspension after picking up nine yellow cards so far this season.

Joslain Mayebi is out for the long term with an achilles injury he picked up against Southport. The first choice goalkeeper was due to join up with Cameroon for their friendly with Tanzania.

Head to Head

Dartford Wins 0 / Wrexham Wins: 0 / Draws: 1

Current League Form

Dartford (DDWLLW) Wrexham (WDWWWW)
Stockport County H 1-1 Ebbsfleet United A 4-1
Southport A 2-2 Alfreton Town H 1-1
Luton Town H 1-0 Barrow A 1-0
Lincoln City A 1-2 Gateshead A 1-0
Mansfield Town A 0-5 Hereford United A 1-0
Macclesfield Town H 2-0 Stockport County H 3-1

Last Meeting

2 September 2012 – Wrexham 2 Dartford 2 – Att: 3772

Goalscorers: D. Harris (4), D. Wright (16), Bishop (42), Noble (90)

Wrexham Lineup: Mayebi, Walker, S. Wright, Riley, Ashton, J. Harris, Keates, Hunt, Cieselwicz, D. Wright, Bishop (sub used: Little, Ormerod, Morrell)

Dartford Lineup: Bettinelli, Burns, Bonner, Arber, Rose, Hayes, Champion, Bradbrook, Wallis, Erskine, D. Harris (subs used: Collier, Noble, Crawford)

Match Stats


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.